Caltrans Active Transportation Plans

Caltrans Active Transportation Plans

Caltrans Active Transportation Plans

The California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) statewide bicycle and pedestrian plan, "Toward An Active California (2017)" outlines the objectives and strategies to achieve the goals laid out in the California Transportation Plan 2040:

  • Improve Multimodal Mobility and Accessibility for All People
  • Preserve the Multimodal Transportation System
  • Support a Vibrant Economy
  • Improve Public Safety and Security
  • Foster Livable and Healthy Communities and Promote Social Equity
  • Practice Environmental Stewardship

The four primary objectives to achieve these goals are: safety, mobility, preservation, and equity. As part of the mobility objective, one of the strategies is the development of District-level plans to identify bicycle and pedestrian asset needs and priority projects on, across, or parallel to the State Highway System (SHS).

District-Level Plans

Caltrans also features District-level planning updates, final and draft documents, news, and ways to get involved. District-level plans are in various stages of development. Please follow the links below or visit the District Plans webpage to learn more about each district’s efforts.

District 1 - Eureka / North Coast 
Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino

District 2 - Redding / Northern California: 
Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity

District 3 - Marysville / San Joaquin Valley (North): 
Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

District 4 - Oakland / San Francisco Bay Area
Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma

District 5 - San Luis Obispo / Central Coast
Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz

District 6 - Fresno / San Joaquin Valley (South) 
Fresno, (Western) Kern, Kings, Madera, Tulare

District 7 - Los Angeles / South Coast
Los Angeles, Ventura

District 8 - San Bernardino / Inland Empire
Riverside, San Bernardino

District 9 - Bishop / Eastern Sierra
Inyo, (Eastern) Kern, Mono

District 10 - Stockton / San Joaquin Valley (Central)
Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

District 11 - San Diego / Southern California
Imperial, San Diego

District 12 - Santa Ana / Orange County